Skip to content
// handled vs the field

Public prices. Public receipts.

Every row below points at the competitor's own site or a regulator. No hand-picked reviews, no made-up differences. If a number isn't public, we say so.

Feature
Handled
AI voice · one operator
Open for first customers→ handled.build/pricing
Air AI
Franchise reseller model
FTC action Mar 2026→ ftc.gov docket
Ruby
Human receptionists
Human answering service→ ruby.com/pricing
Smith.ai
AI plus real people on the phone
AI + human hybrid→ smith.ai/pricing/ai-receptionist
Starting price
$149/mo(Line)
$25,000+franchise fee
$399+/mo
$0/mo(AI Receptionist Free)
How it works
AI voice · your own voice or one of ours · English and Spanish
AI voice, sold as a franchise
Real people answering, based in the US
People answering, with AI taking the first details
Time to live
Minutes to set up · 48-hour guarantee
Not disclosed
Business days
1–3 business days
Refund policy
30 days to get your money back on Line, Starter and Pro
No published refund policy
21 days to get your money back
30-day money-back (up to $1,000, new clients)
What callers are told
It says it's an AI on every call — FCC, CA AB 2905, NY GBL § 396-b
FTC action filed March 2026
Standard call-recording notice
Standard call-recording notice
Contract
Month to month, no franchise
Franchise agreement
Month to month
Month to month
Who it's for
Service businesses, instead of a $2,900+/mo receptionist
Sold via franchise packages
Small businesses that want a real person
Law firms and people working alone
published, and you can check it there, but nothing specific absent or flagged not disclosed

// sources · pull it up yourself

Handled price
handled.build/pricing · compliance ↗
Air AI price
Reported franchise packages, 2025–2026 · compliance ↗
Ruby price
ruby.com public pricing 2026
Smith.ai price
Smith.ai AI receptionist pricing · checked August 2026

// why handled

Not a franchise. Not a resold voice. Just the line answered.

An AI receptionist built on a real service business's booking rules. The price is public. What it tells callers is public. The refund policy is public. Thirty days to try it or get your money back on Starter and Pro.